Emerging Professionals are the Future.

by: ASHLEY HARTSHORN, ASSOCIATE AIA

Fact: In 2015, the average time to licensure for newly licensed architects was 13.3 years.

And that is if the licensure candidate has a good support system, adequate resources, and are able to stay on track despite any and every obstacle that stands in their way. Some people find this pursuit too daunting and decide that licensure isn’t for them. Some people decide licensure isn’t for them for a multitude of other reasons. Some people just want to be designers and still be a part of our wonderful professional community. And all of that is okay.

No matter where you are on your own professional path, or what goals you have for the future, it is my personal goal to help us all succeed. As the 2017 AIA New Mexico Associate Director, I would like to welcome you to the new AIA New Mexico Emerging Professionals Blog, a place for all of us to communicate, share, learn, and grow from each of our insights and experiences.

During my time thus far with the AIA, I have been very fortunate to have the support to explore varying avenues of engaging with the AIA, making my own strides to make architecture matter, and to find ways to help Emerging Professionals. This support came from my own firm, my local chapter, my state chapter, and my peers that have had my back along the way. Thank you, to each and every one of you.

It is my belief that with open communication, better support, and quality resources, that we as Emerging Professionals have the ability to shape the future of architecture. Let’s do this!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

